Home > blog, Social Anxiety > is social anxiety real? (via Unhappy Happiness)

is social anxiety real? (via Unhappy Happiness)

I’ve often wondered if other people think the same as me and worry as much or to the same level as me. Doing some research over the last few weeks has helped me realise and accept what has been going on in my head for the last 10ish years. Half the battle is accepting you have a problem. I’m on a mission now and I’m dealing with it! 🙂

Please note: I wrote this post for the first ever Blog Carnival of Mental Health. The topic is diagnosis. *** So, as many of you know, WordPress allows me to see what people search for to find this blog. As of late, I've had some alarming searches, namely–"is social anxiety real" and "is cyclothymia real." I guess it's good that people are questioning their inner experiences, but I'd like to know to what end? Labels are dangerous. It's very dang … Read More

via Unhappy Happiness

  1. December 2, 2010 at 9:01 am

    From personal experience I know that finding a name for what you have helps a lot but mostly that’s for other people. Finding out that what you have is experienced by others and isn’t something you’ve imagined is one of the best things that can happen. I have been agoraphobic to the point where I barely left the house for two periods of two years at a time and I couldn’t put a name to it until I read aboout it in a magazine. I put it down to personal weirdness and a failing on my part! Now I can recognise if I’m feeling a bit vulnerable and I’m less stressed about it because I know what’s causing it. I think there needs to be more recognition of and sympathy towards conditions like social anxiety (especially by GPs) because so many people are silently missing out on the normal everyday activities that others take for granted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

